In 1997, the 75th Legislature passed Senate Bill 1674, relating to the creation, administration, powers, duties, operation, and financing of library districts in Texas. This legislation allows the formation of library taxing districts and permits voters to choose to dedicate a portion of their sales tax revenue to support library services. The provisions of the Library Districts Act are found in Title 10, Local Government Code, Chapter 326.

Supporters of Westbank Community Library introduced the original library district legislation in order to provide an ongoing, substantial source of funding for Westbank Community Library. The Library Districts Act was amended in 1999 by House Bill 1618 and amended in 2001 by House Bill 440. Read more about Texas public library districts on the Texas State Library and Archives website.

In the November 2, 1999 Hays County election, the voters of Dripping Springs approved the creation of a library taxing district to be governed by five, unpaid trustees elected by district voters. Board members meet monthly at 8:30 a.m. on the third Wednesday of each month, virtually or at the library, as noted in the agenda posted on the library website and outside the front entrance of the Library. The Board may also meet other times as District business requires them. The Hays County Order declaring the Dripping Springs Community Library District official was signed on November 8, 1999. The Library began collecting one quarter percent of sales tax in June 2000.

The Trustees are elected by popular vote of the residents of the Dripping Springs Community Library District in the November general election. Two Trustees are elected in even years and three in odd years. All election notices are posted on the bulletin board outside the library front door and on the website.

The Dripping Springs Community Library
District Board of Trustees

Name – PositionEmailExpiration of Term
Missy Atwood – Presidentpresident@dscl.orgNovember 2025
Bob Richardson – Vice-Presidentvicepresident@dscl.orgNovember 2025
Board Trustee – Opentreasurer@dscl.orgNovember 2024
Melva Codina – Secretarysecretary@dscl.orgNovember 2025
Marcie Cochran – Trusteetrustee01@dscl.orgPost November 2024


Candidates for election must have resided within the Dripping Spring Community Library District for at least 6 months, must be 18 years of age before the election, must be registered to vote, and must comply with other qualifications for holding public office as outlined in Election Code 141.001. The Secretary of State website has more information about political subdivision candidacy.

Date of Next Election

Election: November 5, 2024

Deadline to File an Application for a place on the ballot

 August 19, 2024


Applications for 2024 are accepted from July 20, 2024 through August 19, 2024. Signed and notarized applications may be filed at Dripping Springs Community Library, 501 Sportsplex Drive, Dripping Springs, TX 78620, to the attention of Mindy Laird during the hours of 9am-4:00pm, Monday-Friday, except holidays. Signed and notarized applications may also be sent by mail, fax (512-858-2639), or emailed ( and must be received by August 19, 2024.

Location of Next Election

We hold our election in conjunction with Hays County. Please refer to Order of Election when posted.

For the Tuesday, November 7, 2023 election of three Board Trustee positions:

Agendas & Minutes

June 19. 2024Agenda
May 15, 2024Agenda
May 7, 2024: WorkshopAgendaMinutes
April 17, 2024AgendaMinutes
March 20, 2024AgendaMinutes
February 21, 2024AgendaMinutes
February 14, 2023: WorkshopAgendaMinutes
January 17, 2023AgendaMinutes
December 20, 2023AgendaMinutes
December 6, 2023: WorkshopAgendaMinutes
November 30, 2023Agenda
November 15, 2023AgendaMinutes
November 8, 2023: WorkshopAgendaMinutes
October 18, 2023AgendaMinutes
October 10, 2023: WorkshopAgendaMinutes
October 10, 2023 MeetingAgendaMinutes
September 20, 2023AgendaMinutes
September 6, 2023: WorkshopAgendaMinutes
August 16, 2023AgendaMinutes
July 19, 2023AgendaMinutes
June 28, 2023AgendaMinutes
June 8, 2023AgendaMinutes
May 17, 2023AgendaMinutes
April 19, 2023AgendaMinutes
April 5, 2023: WorkshopAgendaMinutes
March 22, 2023AgendaMinutes
February 15, 2023AgendaMinutes
February 6, 2023Agenda
January 18, 2023AgendaMinutes
December 14, 2022AgendaMinutes
November 16, 2022AgendaMinutes
October 19, 2022AgendaMinutes
September 21, 2022AgendaMinutes
September 14 & 15, 2022AgendaCancelled
August 17, 2022AgendaMinutes
July 20, 2022AgendaCancelled
June 15, 2022AgendaMinutes
May 25, 2022AgendaCancelled
May 18, 2022AgendaMinutes
April 20, 2022AgendaMinutes
April 19, 2022: WorkshopAgendaMinutes
March 16, 2022AgendaMinutes
February 16, 2022AgendaMinutes
January 19, 2022AgendaCancelled

To request public information (open records) from the Dripping Springs Library, please contact the Library Director, Mindy Laird at