Welcome to the Dripping Springs Community Library

Loading palette preview

Book Awards

TBA-2012 Texas Bluebonnet Award

The Texas Bluebonnet Award reading program was created in 1979 to inspire Texas children to read, and explore a variety of books. Children across the state participate in Bluebonnet Reading through their registered schools or public libraries. Those who read, or listen to, at least five of the twenty books are eligible to vote for their favorite book. This vote helps select the winner of the Texas Bluebonnet Award. Voting takes place in January of each year.

Main website:

Bluebonnet Annotated Master List and four styles of reading logs are ready to print as PDF. A new book cover reading lost is also included!

Bluebonnet Titles: Complete photo list of all titles.

Lone Star Reading List  Texas Lone Star Reading List

The Texas Lone Star Reading List is a recommended reading list developed by public and school librarians. It is designed to encourage students in grades 6, 7, or 8 to explore a variety of  recreational reading, not to support a specific curriculum.

2x2-list 2x2 List

The 2x2 List is an annual list of 20 recommended books for children, age two to grade two.  Parent/child activities are also provided (also found inside the front cover of DSCL titles) along with access to Booktalk, an online resource for additional book and author information, along with additional reading suggestions and some activities.

NewberyMedal The Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

 Logo_caldecott The Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

 Geisel-Award The Geisel Award

The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

The Wilder Award
The Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.